Tags

, ,

You know the elderly lady in your neighborhood who lives alone and always bakes way to much food for herself? She’ll go around door-to-door handing out cookies because she can’t eat them all.

Well that’s me!! Except, I guess I’ll just be the crazy squash lady of the neighborhood?!

Yep that's all butternut squash!! (except my sisters cinnamon rolls in the backgroud)

I’ve tried to get this recipe up for 4 days now and its finally here!! This is one of my absolute favorite things to eat. When I went on a diet, the first thing I gave up was french fries. So when I found this recipe from Hungry Girl (go check her out), I tried it right away and its been one of my favs for 3 years.

All you need is a butternut squash and you’re set.

First, peel the squash. Then, cut off the top (the long skinny part) and slice the bottom in half so you can scoop the seeds out.

I find that if you place the squash in the oven for about 5 minutes, it’s softer and easier to cut up. The seeds will come out relatively easy with a knife:

Then, cut up the squash into any kind of shape. I love cutting them into french fry shapes!!

Last, place it in the oven for 25-30 minutes at 400 degrees.

And you’re done!! Be warned, after your first batch, you may end up trying to eat them before they’re cool!! This will result in a burnt tongue and fingers (yea, it happens to me all the time).

This is always the way I’ve made butternut squash fries. I’ll admit, the cutting and peeling is a little annoying. Then today, I was in Walmart and look what I found….

Diced butternut squash in a bag!!! I love that it’s already peeled and cut for me!!

I just ripped open the bag, threw it in the pan for 10 minutes…..and whaala, DONE!!

The only drawbacks are the price (twice as much) and for some reason the calorie count on the bag was off?! It gave me the nutrition info for 1 cup and said the bag held 4 cups.It didn’t look like 4 cups to me though, so I measured it out. I barely had 2 cups!!! Not that it matters, as long as it taste the same I’m a happy camper 🙂

Now I’m going to wash the orange off my hands(peeling and cutting for an hour will do that to ya) and eat some squash….alot of squash 🙂

I’ve been reading through Ephesians and Philipians and they are full of awesome advice. It’s really hard for me to pick just one verse to share!!!

“do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” Philipians 4:6-7

